A 297

Council

SPECIAL MEETING OF BELFAST CITY COUNCIL

Held in the City Hall on Monday, 9th April, 2018 at 5.30 p.m., pursuant to Notice.

The Right Honourable the Lord Mayor Members present: (Councillor McAllister) (Chairperson); the High Sheriff (Councillor Howard): Aldermen Convery, Kingston, McCoubrey, L. Patterson, R. Patterson, Sandford and Spence; and Councillors Armitage, Attwood, Baker, Beattie, Boyle, Bunting, Campbell, Canavan, Carson, Clarke, Collins, Corr, Corr Johnston, Craig, Dorrian, Garrett, Graham, Groves, Hargey, Heading, Hutchinson, Long, Lyons, Magee, Magennis, McAteer, McConville, McDonough-Brown, McReynolds, Milne, Mullan, Murphy, Newton, Nic Biorna, Nicholl, O'Donnell, O'Hara, O'Neill, Pankhurst and Reynolds.

Apologies

Apologies were reported on behalf of the Deputy Lord Mayor (Councillor Copeland); Aldermen Browne, McGimpsey, Rodgers and Councillors Dudgeon, Hussey, Johnston, Kyle, McCusker and Walsh.

Summons

The Chief Executive submitted the summons convening the special meeting which had been called to consider a recommendation of the Strategic Policy and Resources Committee of 27th March to elect and admit former President William Jefferson Clinton and Senator George Mitchell as a Freemen of the City of Belfast.

Freedom of the City

Moved by Councillor Attwood, Seconded by Councillor Long and

"In recognition of their work for peace in Northern Ireland and on these Islands and in recognition of their role in our peace process, this Council agrees that former President William Jefferson Clinton and Senator George Mitchell are hereby elected and admitted as Freemen of the City and County Borough of Belfast."

On a recorded vote, forty-six Members voted for the proposal and three against and it was declared carried.

Special Meeting of Council Monday, 9th April, 2018

<u>For 46</u>	<u>Against 3</u>
The Lord Mayor (Councillor McAllister); The High Sheriff (Councillor Howard); and Aldermen Convery, Kingston, McCoubrey, L. Patterson, Sandford and Spence; Councillors Armitage, Attwood, Baker, Beattie, Boyle, Campbell, Canavan, Carson, Clarke, Corr, Corr Johnston, Craig, Dorrian, Garrett, Graham, Groves, Hargey, Heading, Hutchinson, Long, Lyons, Magee, Magennis, McAteer, McConville, McDonough-Brown, McReynolds, Milne, Mullan, Murphy, Newton, Nic Biorna, Nicholl, O'Donnell, O'Hara, O'Neill, Pankhurst and Reynolds.	Alderman R. Patterson; and Councillors Bunting and Collins.

Lord Mayor Chairperson